Continental Unions

Baptist World Alliance Women is comprised of seven Continental Unions that represent women from more than 150 countries. Each Continental Union elects officers who serve five-year terms. The President of each Continental Union also serves as a Vice President on the Baptist World Alliance Executive Committee, ensuring our global sisterhood is globally represented.

The map depicts the incredible reach and impact of our network, with each Continental Union represented with one of the seven colors in the interlocked rings of our BWA Women logo. Read below to find out more about our seven unions.

Asia Baptist Women’s Union (ABWU)

Formed in 1958, the ABWU has a long history of impact and is currently comprised of 34 women’s unions across 18 countries and territories. Their vision is to see women in Asia empowered for leadership,  to confidently engage in various traditional and creative ministries, and to bring the Gospel to the lost.

President: Dr. Vernette Myint Myint Sann (Myanmar)
Vice President: Soon Boon Yim (Korea)
Secretary: Tuanta Suteerawong (Thailand)
Treasurer: Dr. Sai-Mooi Lim (Malaysia)

Baptist Women of the Pacific (BWP)

The purpose of BWP is to connect, equip and mobilize Baptist women across the Pacific. This is achieved in a multitude of ways, including conferences, connecting through social media, prayer events, newsletters, and workshops.

President: Elissa Macpherson (Australia)
Vice President: Sarah Ekali (Papua New Guinea)
Vice President: Kesaia Naivalurua (Fiji)
Secretary: Margaret Warren (Australia)
Treasurer: Karen Yee (New Zealand)  

Baptist Women’s Union of Africa (BWUA)

BWUA connects women across Africa in more than 30 countries and addresses critical issues like gender-based violence, poverty, and equity in education.

President: Jane Mwangi (Kenya)
Vice President – Western Africa: 
Vice President – Eastern Africa: Lugano Mtafya
Vice President – Southern Africa: Naomi Chain Moruti 
Secretary: Rachel Lateju (Nigeria)
Newsletter Editor: Patricia Ihlenfeldt (South Africa)

Baptist Women of North America (BWNA)

The BWNA mission is to encourage women to live out kingdom life, especially in the area of helping the vulnerable. They seek to help their 17 member unions reach the vulnerable through networking, leadership development, resources, and grants. 

President: Patty Lane (USA)
Vice President: Joyce Porto (USA)
Vice President: Lisa Murray (USA)

Caribbean Baptist Women’s Union (CBWU)

Caribbean Baptist Women’s Union was organized in 1979 and formally became the seventh Continental Union of BWA Women in January 2000. The mission of CBWU is to foster and celebrate unity in Christ and promote fellowship among Baptist women in the Caribbean and worldwide, win souls for Christ, and work towards greater social and community involvement through prayer, witness and service.

President: Karlene Edwards-Warrick (Trinidad and Tobago)
Vice President: Sherrian Munro (Grenada)
Vice President: Betty James (San Andres)
Secretary: Buela Hamilton (Turks and Caicos)
Assistant Secretary: Sylvia Henry (Jamaica)
Treasurer: Julie Barclay (Trinidad and Tobago)

European Baptist Women United (EBWU)

European Baptist Women United is committed to equip new leaders for national and international leadership, build a fellowship of women across the region, work with individual and community needs, and unite women in mission and ministry.

President: Fabienne Seguin (France) 
Vice President: Ruth Madarova (Slovakia) 
Secretary: Alexandra Anderson (South Wales, UK)
Treasurer: Ligita Bodniece (Latvia)

Unión Femenil Bautista de América Latina (UFBAL)

The Union of Baptist Women in Latin America has a vision to further Christian discipleship of Baptist women and children of all ages so that they recognize the sovereignty of God and fulfill the Great Commission.

President: Liliana Fernández de Farina (Argentina)
Secretary: Lily Patricia Muir (Bolivia)
Treasurer: Beatriz Baena (Colombia)
News Director: Aildes Soares Pereira